Action for local jobs

3909545e-4b74-2994-09d0-a2cf36b04105

The Northamptonshire Telegraph reports “Financial secretary to the Treasury Greg Clark has agreed to hold talks aimed at tackling Corby’s high level of youth unemployment”.

This follows my call today for government action to help young people seeking work in Corby.  Speaking in Parliament I referred to a recent independent study by Ambitious Minds which shows that Corby is the worst affected area in the UK for youth unemployment.

The study says “Britain’s worst-affected place – Corby, in Northamptonshire – has seen its youth unemployment rate rise at three times the average rate, from 4.0% to 11.0% since September 2007.”

A transcript from my exchange with the Financial Secretary is below;

Andy Sawford:

“Is the Minister aware that recent independent surveys show that Corby and east Northamptonshire is one of the most difficult places in the country for a young unemployed person trying to find work? I can tell him that I meet young people, day in, day out, who are desperately trying to find work, so will he look at the unique case for having an enterprise zone for Corby and east Northamptonshire, extending by one the number of enterprise zones that the Government have created?”

Greg Clark:

“I welcome the hon. Gentleman to the Chamber… I should be happy to meet him to discuss the situation in Corby, which is an enterprising town with the potential to create many jobs. As he will know, under the “city deals” system I am responsible for devolving powers to places throughout the country, and I am keen to receive more applications.

Following the Question Time I spoke with Mr Clark to agree that a meeting will be held between the Minister and a local delegation to discuss a possible ‘City Deal’ for Corby that would encompass initiatives to help young people back to work.”

The situation for young people in Corby and East Northamptonshire is incredibly difficult and I know how hard many young people are trying to get to work.  I am disappointed that the Government will not support an Enterprise Zone for Corby, but I will keep pressing for this, and I will be taking the Minister up on his offer to discuss other initiatives to support unemployed local young people to get into work.

Leave a Reply

