Policing in Corby and East Northamptonshire

Andy Sawford Adam Simmonds PCC

One of my 6 pledges is to work for safer communities by pushing for more police and PCSOs on our streets and pressing for streetlights to be turned back on.

I raised these issues with Northamptonshire’s Police and Crime Commissioner Adam Simmonds when I took him for a walkabout in Corby last week.

We discussed local initiatives to reduce crime and anti-social behaviour and agreed on a number of ways of working together in the future, such as a shopwatch scheme.  We also discussed policing needs across the towns and villages of East Northamptonshire.

One particular issue I raised with the Commissioner which I am very concerned about is the future of the police station in Corby.

I accept that the cells are now very old and facilities need modernising but I cannot support the Commissioners plans to locate new cells in a joint centre for Corby, Kettering and Wellingborough located near Kettering.

Commissioner Simmonds has promised to keep in touch with me as plans develop and he assured me that there will continue to be a police station in Corby but it may be at a new site.

The most important issue for me, and I believe for my constituents, is that whatever changes there are in the configuration of the police stations and custody facilities, that policing levels in Corby and East Northamptonshire are maintained.  I will be keeping a very close eye on this as the situation develops.

You can follow the work I’m doing on all my 6 pledges here and receive regular updates by subscribing to my newsletter.

Leave a Reply

