Statement on Solway Foods

Solway Foods have announced that a 45 day statutory consultation period on the future of their operations at Corby has begun, putting 900 jobs at risk of redundancy.

I have spoken with representatives of Solway Foods today. My thoughts are with the 900 strong workforce who will now all be very worried about the future of their jobs. This news comes as a shock. Solway operate in a very competitive market, they have recently lost some customers and they tell me the Corby site is ageing.  Solway have told me that they will consider all possibilities, including options for staying in Corby, and I have offered to help in anyway I can.

I have arranged urgent talks with Solway’s Chief Executive, Veepul Patel at 10.00 on Monday morning (10th February).



Leave a comment